Believe in nothing, no matter who says it, even if I say it, if it does not agree with your own experience and your own common sense ~ Buddha

From time to time, I write down quotes that I read that seem to have a gem of wisdom in them. I stick them up on the tackboard above my computer, and when my mind wanders, I reflect on them.

How do I know what I think until I hear what I say? E M Forster.

I don’t think people spend a lot of time thinking about where they stand on various subjects. Until I wrote that post on Monday, I had no idea I was such a rabid proponent of anti-exploitation laws for animals. Often times, when discussing an issue of personal morality, I will become aware of how principled (or unprincipled) I am. Maybe I should journal more often to address this lack, but honestly, unless given what amounts to an assignment on what to think, I won’t.

Be regular and orderly in your life so that you can be violent and original in you work. Gustave Flaubert

This is one of the best exhortations I’ve ever read in favour of being organized. I can ride a wave of magnificent words, ideas flowing from me like a smashed fire hydrant, and yet, if I’m frazzled, disorganized, or interrupted, it completely ruins the moment. It’s like having your roommate walk in while you’re having sex; you want to finish, what you were doing was awesome. But the moment is gone, so you might as well get dressed and carry on with things.

Always act with deliberate intent. It is not enough to do. You must be mindful. Unattributed

This reminds me not to fill my days with busywork so I feel a sense of accomplishment. To be really accomplished, I must drive forward with my projects, no matter how difficult and overwhelming they seem.

Well-being is attained little by little, and nevertheless is no little thing itself. Zeno of Citium

This was on the Happiness Project a few weeks ago. I don’t know if she reads a lot of classical literature or what, but she often has awesome quotes. This is a reminder for me to take a half an hour every day and do my yoga and my Access so that I don’t get run down. Every machine requires regular maintenance, after all.

Don’t ask, can I do it, don’t ask, how will I do it, just ask, would I like to do it? My friend Blair.

I wrote this down when he said it, because it struck me as such a powerful reminder to just let things happen for you. I believe that everything works out the way it should, so instead of worrying about how I’m going to afford something or the other, or how I’ll ever have time to do everything I’ve committed to, I just ask myself “Would I like this?” And something will work out for me.

Leave a Reply

