Believe in nothing, no matter who says it, even if I say it, if it does not agree with your own experience and your own common sense ~ Buddha

So anyway, I was at my mom’s the other day when I saw this coffee-table book on Feng Shui. I don’t study Feng Shui as an art, but I know the general principles, and if you study up my house, you’ll see I did a lot of Feng Shui-y stuff without realizing it.

Feng Shui, for those too enamoured with my writing to click over to Wikipedia, is the Chinese art and science of the flow of qi — life energy. A big reason why Feng Shui is practiced in North America is because it gives easy-to-implement tips to attract prosperity into your life. And don’t we all love a short cut.

Now, I would never buy seven goldfish to attract money into my life. It’s very doubtful that I would base house buying decisions on the orientation of the house. And I’m definitely not renovation the bathroom so that the toilet can’t be seen from the doorway.

But what I thought was rather interesting was the philosophy seemed to equate “good qi = prosperity= $$$”. Sounds a lot more Western all of the sudden, doesn’t it? But you have to remember, this is a country that elevated the pragmatic philosophies of Confucius to a religion. Pragmatism, for people all over the world, means survival, and for people to survive, they need to be able to get at least a little money when they need it.

Only in our developed nations do people have the luxury of saying, “Do what you love…the money will follow.” I often think, as enlightened as we believe this advice to be, there are a lot of people who would spit in our faces for telling them such tripe.

Anyway.

Qi=$$$. And there are lots of people who swear by it. Me, I like to think that if I make a home that’s comfortable for anyone to settle in and stay awhile, qi will like it too. That’s why I like to have clear lines of travel in a room, as little a clutter as I can possibly get away with (cats are great for clearing clutter. If you don’t want it to land on the floor, you better move it) and a warm and inviting atmosphere. For me, this actually does include lots of plants and windchimes, pleasant walkways and hanging crystals in the windows.

But I’m not going to move my bed from under the window.

Leave a Reply

