Believe in nothing, no matter who says it, even if I say it, if it does not agree with your own experience and your own common sense ~ Buddha

I was on the phone with a friend the other day and we were remarking on our shared love of bubble baths. I said, “If I could figure out a way to get my laptop in there so I wasn’t afraid of electrocuting myself, I’d buy a little tub caddy and work in there all day long.”

She said, “Yeah, I’ve taken more than one business call in there. Having an internet connection would really up my productivity.”

There was a dreamy silence while we contemplated the unalloyed joy of being able to work from our fav’ritest location.

Then she said, “You realize we just transformed our only retreat into a satellite office?”

I had to let that sink in. On one hand there was the euphoria of being able to be warm and relaxed and productive. On the other hand: really. Stand down, you twit.

This seems all so poignant as I sit here on the couch with my cough drops and my snot rags close at hand. Stand down, you twit. I’m going to bed.

Leave a Reply

