Believe in nothing, no matter who says it, even if I say it, if it does not agree with your own experience and your own common sense ~ Buddha

Guess what? I’m at a class this weekend! I love classes. I am aware that this is by no means a universal thing, but I will change that. So, this post has required reading:

Behind door #1,  Naomi of Ittybiz: Why you DON’T want to take it to the next level.

And behind door #2, Patty Azzarello: 6 ways to stand out

I have even tweaked the links so that it opens in a new tab and doesn’t make you leave me. Because that would make me sad. Even though I’m in Calgary.

You read them? Good.

Kay, so Naomi makes the very good point that being in such a damn hurry to level up all the time actually will make things harder for you when you take on the bigger challenges. Because you didn’t achieve mastery over the place you were at, you just made it a short waystation on your way to the top. hmmmm. Putting it that way doesn’t make it seem so smart, does it?

I know it sucks to have to rein in your eagerness and build to a certain level of proficiency before you move on, but you have to pay your dues. No one is saying that you can’t move up quickly, but you need to do your thousand hours, or whatever Tiger Woods says is his secret.

We can make it not suck a bit by making mastery a challenge. Because that’s really our problem, right? Where we’re at stopped giving us a thrill, and then we got bored. So challenge yourself, make up a game with rules, time yourself, whatever. Tweak. Add flair. Whatever you have to do.

When you get to the point where you look around and think, “Wow, am I ever on top of everything,” before your head swells to the size of a Hindenburg, then level up.

Part 2

Ever notice that you are not the only excellent person in your field? I thought you had. Well, really, that’s kind of why you wanted to level up so fast, so that you’d look better than they did, and all the money, fame and glory would be yours. Right? Wrong.

That might make you seem pretty noteworthy in the short-term, but when some time goes by and the cracks start to show in your plan, people are going to switch to someone more…stable. Them’s the breaks.

That second article? The one that you scanned? Go back and read it again. THIS is where you put your focus when you want to stand out in the crowd. It’s also not a bad idea to put your focus there, just for you. Kind of like being your own personal trainer, except for your business.

I actually thought, “Hell, all these concepts work everywhere!” I’m going to apply them in my household. There’s no metric for achievement, sure, but the challenge still exists.

What I’m trying to say is,

Eyes on the prize is a pretty self-limiting paradigm. Achieving mastery, discipline, or optimization no matter where you apply it, is a much more rewarding gain.

 

Comments on: "Leveling Up is Pointless. Play the Damn Game" (3)

  1. Yup!Yup!Yup! Right on!
    (But you knew I would say that) ~

    I’m reminded of a couple of things: “Bloom where you are planted” – I used ta love that little plaque, in grade school; then it pissed me off, when I felt like it meant “You’re stuck here, stupid, suck it up!”, ‘cuz I really really needed to stretch and grow; and now I see the wisdom again, but as just one piece in a bigger puzzle, not the one-an-only thing.

    … and the cautionary note embodied in the “The Peter Principle” by Peter Drucker. I read that book a hunnert years ago, and it obviously stuck pretty good — “executives tend to rise to their level of incompetency” — and it can be applied in sooooo many other situations that it feels like a universal truth, at least in “modern” social structures.

    (See my [not written yet – ulp!] posts about “Please don’t turn into a Product Monster!” and “Practice Doesn’t Count?!??”)

    I’ve Unsubscribed from many lists when people whose ‘words of wisdom’ started feeling more like constant sales pitches for their ‘next big thing’.
    I certainly don’t begrudge them their products and their personal revenue streams, and I recognize my own ‘tool collector’ tendencies, but I also am coming to recognize my own points of overwhelm! And it’s so not a good idea to push too far past them, for any reason – down that path lies 16 hours playing solitaire, and no clean underwear (or new blog posts)!

    Bright Blessings, and have fun in Calgary! Karen

    • That’s a very well-reasoned argument. I think a lot of people would benefit on being more clear on their mottivations.

  2. Hope you had a Grand Time and Learned A Bunch o’ Good Stuff in Calgary, Lady! ~~~

    Here’s a couple of other folks’ takes on “Enough”:

    Ken Bechtel addressed “What’s Enough?” on his web-radio show – The Gift of Enough 12/16/10 Thu, 16 Dec 2010
    http://feeds.feedburner.com/KenBechtel

    and my very fave ‘clutter-clearer’ Sue Rasmussen (‘cuz she addresses the energy involved, first, then the ‘stuff’) posted this last week:
    http://www.unclutter-organize-transform.com/a2011-the-fine-art-of-setting-limits.html

    They may seem really only vaguely relevent, but if yer brain works anything like mine does, how the principles apply in a completely-different-context will cllick into place in a little while. (Ohhh! Just re-read your last paragraph: Yeah!!) 😉

Leave a Reply

