Believe in nothing, no matter who says it, even if I say it, if it does not agree with your own experience and your own common sense ~ Buddha

This is a new category dedicated to illuminating explanations of how and why BodyTalk works. Because it comes to my attention that I’m not actually saying much about BodyTalk on my own blog, and the official website is boring and technical.

Imagine that your body is like a vast, sprawling corporation, like IBM, for instance. Ideally, all the sectors of the company operate in synergistic co-operation. But in reality, the stresses of the workaday world mean that the different branches are not all working together like they should. In some cases, they are actually hindering each other, and even the individual sectors are not cooperating fully within themselves.

All this is happening at a very low level within the “corporation.” Upper management has no idea what’s going on, except a vague feeling of “dis-ease” because middle management keeps telling them, “Nothing’s wrong, it’s just a bug, we’ll handle it.” Eventually, however, the CEO (that’s your brain) figures out that all is not well, but it can’t actually put its finger on the problem, partly because the lines of communication are compromised, and partly because the problem is so systemic.

So it calls in a consultant. That’s your local BodyTalker. The BodyTalker (that’s me!) comes in, and using a special technique, “talks” to the “corporation” as a whole, to get a feel for what the body thinks is the problem, and the most important steps to take to fix it. In fact, the consultant-BodyTalker will actually get the corporation to prioritize what needs to be fixed, getting it involved in the process.

The BodyTalker then takes her findings to the CEO (the brain) and the CEO says “Thank you very much, we’ll get right on that.” You see, now that the CEO has the information it needs, the steps that its own employees think will fix things, and the willing participation of the various sectors, it has all it needs to correct the problem.

This is a pretty simplistic explanation, but accurate in the details. Help me out by asking more questions, and I’ll come up with another metaphors. Metaphors are fun!

Comments on: "Your Body Is a Corporate Giant" (6)

  1. Thanks for an explanation – I was wondering but apparently couldn’t work up to checking the official site 🙂

    I know I can tell when things aren’t “right” and have gotten better at sensing it sooner but, still, things get away from you. The problem seems to come in in knowing just what the difficulty is- just as you said – and then figuring out what to do.

    For me, things seem to go awry when I’ve got too much scheduled time – as in appointments and events and such. It fries my brain which seems to spread in a stealthy way to the strangest places.

    I’d like to know more, but still don’t quite know what to ask 🙂

    • Actually that reminds me of my bailing bucket analogy: if your body spends its resources in one place handling stress in the form of too many incoming stimuli (manning the bilge-pumps) it won’t be able to do any lower level maintenance (mending the sails)

      Guess that’s one more post that just wrote itself. Thanks Monette!

    • Went to the official website – it’s not all that illuminating and appears to have been written by committee 🙂

      But, here’s a question – how (or not) does the Body Talk practice fit into the spectrum of alternative therapies and what is the “official position” on acute health problems – like a ruptured spinal disk or uncontrolled asthma?

      The basis of the question is that my first impression of the method is that, similar to acupuncture, it’s very subtle and much more effective if undertaken before a problem has advanced to an acute stage.

      Was that a good question?

      PS Looking for your email to send you a note – am I missing it somewhere?

      • My email is in the work with me, contact me, and I think also on the about page. but to save you looking for it, feedthespark [at] gmail.com. Also, I just found out that you can go through the comments on your own blog and retrieve emails from there. ( I commented there yesterday)

        Onto the questions: Thank you! I have been wanting to start kind of a spectrum chart to demonstrate where various modalities fall, but I thought that would be too geeky. I should have known that you can NEVER be too geeky on the internet.

        The official position of acute conditions is that they are never what they seem, they are symptomatic of the body’s lack of communication with in itself, as evidenced by the fact that it has not been able to handle the problem. What that means to you and me is that a ruptured disc may first require the correction of weakened muscles or displaced vertebrae or any of a million other things that all contributed to the disc being the weak link that finally broke.

        Asthma, like most chronic conditions (even acute asthma symptoms are a chronic condition — used to be an asthmatic myself) is even further underlying, and my (admittedly controversial) stand on chronic conditions is that they are ultimately a protection from something and that something is a large part of what needs to be addressed before symptoms subside. BodyTalk publicly, takes a much softer stance, but it’s mostly because my stance makes people shriek about me blaming the victim and other reactive nonsense of that sort.

        I’m going to have to work on how to present BodyTalk along the spectrum… I’m thinking it’s a two-metric graph. Plus, I will address these, and any other EXCELLENT questions in an upcoming column. THANK YOU.

      • Sorry, I missed a section in there.

        BodyTalk is very subtle in that it treats on a level far deeper than modern germ theory and medication intervention. At its basis is the idea that the body can and would heal itself if we gave it the opportunity to do so. However, in many cases it’s been denied the opportunity for so long that it actually forgot how.

        In all cases it would be better to intervene before any symptoms blew up to the acute stage (and healing would be faster too). But the benefit of acute symptoms is that people are uncomfortable enough to take action, and so, if they can be persuaded to continue the full course of treatment after their symptoms subside, then they will be absolutely SHOCKED at how good it is possible for them to feel. Malaise, lethargy, and lack of focus are all symptoms as well, but they’re not uncomfortable enough to drive people to seek help.

  2. Category: BodyTalk ~ I love it already!

    … and I’ll engage that “ask more questions” process while I shovel snow, now! (Must dig out the poor li’l snow-gnome in my back yard!)

    K

Leave a Reply

