Believe in nothing, no matter who says it, even if I say it, if it does not agree with your own experience and your own common sense ~ Buddha

I had a client the other day tell me that my practice was like another artist she knew; the art itself was pretty meh, until you heard her explain it, and then it became sensational and evocative. Not entirely sure that’s a complement… 🙂

I will agree that the sessions themselves mean basically nothing until I parse them to the client. That doesn’t mean they’re not effective, it just means that the client likely won’t be conscious of the shift. Let me put it this way, if you were unconscious of these dynamics before the session, if we shift them in session, you’re still probably not going to notice those dynamics… because they’re not in your awareness. It takes me bringing them into your awareness before you can fully recognize what was and what is now.

I have a tough time having a beginner’s mind about this, so I earnestly entreat your questions. I love to explain, but I am liable to assume too much.

Here are some questions I got asked last week:

How does the Body Talk practice fit into the spectrum of alternative therapies?

BodyTalk is a curious hybrid, and because of that, it positions itself as being “outside” alternative health fields. My, that sounded arrogant, didn’t it?

It’s unique based on several things:

  • It consults strictly with the client’s Innate and does not rely on any expertise of the practitioner whatsoever. I’m there to be a mirror, reflecting back to the body it’s own priorities — priorities that it is too overwhelmed to examine and initiate effectively.
  • It uses a system very similar to a flow chart in combination with the yes/no answers I receive from muscle-testing Innate in order to integrate left-brained and right-brained thinking — this supports a flow state where linear thinking is combined with intuitive flashes to achieve results not possible in either state.
  • The flow-chart allows for any kind of modality to be indicated in the course of treatment. If it’s a modality I also do, I do it, if it is not, I refer the client for treatment elsewhere. This is what we feel makes it holistic (in the literal sense of the word) because it integrates freely with whatever else the body feels it needs

Click on the image to see John Veltheim’s explanation of the concepts and knowledge base BodyTalk is coming from.

What is the “official position” on acute health problems – like a ruptured spinal disk or uncontrolled asthma?

The official position of acute conditions is that they are never what they seem. They are symptomatic of the body’s lack of communication within itself, as evidenced by the fact that it has not been able to handle the problem. What that means to you and me is that a ruptured disc may first require the correction of weakened muscles or displaced vertebrae or any of a million other things that all contributed to the disc being the weak link in the chain that finally broke.

Asthma, like most chronic conditions (even acute asthma symptoms are a chronic condition — used to be an asthmatic myself) is even further underlying, and my (admittedly controversial) stand on chronic conditions is that they are ultimately a protection from something and that something is a large part of what needs to be addressed before symptoms subside. BodyTalk publicly, takes a much softer stance, but it’s mostly because my stance makes people shriek about me blaming the victim and other reactive nonsense of that sort.

I’m a Christian. How does BodyTalk relate to my reglion?

That’s an interesting question. It’s hard to know exactly how to answer because it depends on your specific beliefs, but here are some concerns I’ve heard from other clients and Christians.

  • I believe that healing as you do is a miracle sent by God. Are you a tool of God? This is a misconception of my role in as practitioner. I’m only there to facilitate healing. I do not heal personally; your body heals itself. I still think that counts as a miracle, though.
  • I think that God might want me to be sick, that it’s a lesson I have to learn. What will happen if that’s true? If that’s true, the lesson might come up in session. If it doesn’t and if the problem still gets solved, you’ve evidently learned your lesson. If you haven’t then probably nothing will happen until you do. It might be useful to ask what this situation is trying to teach you then.
  • How can you know what’s best for me? Only God can truly know what’s best for me in any given situation. I think that using intuition is allowing God to speak through you. Similarly, I simply ask your intuition what would the best thing to do right now. That’s how I know. I also believe that if it’s not for the best, your body won’t let it happen, so I have a lot of trust in the situation. You might also think of that as having faith, because I use my intuition a lot nowadays, and it makes hard decisions a lot easier when you frame it that way.
Comments on: "BodyTalk: The Q & A" (1)

  1. I think that using intuition is allowing God to speak through you.

    But God thinks I don’t exist. Who’s doing the speaking then? 😉

    Thanks for the additional explanations. I’ve got a ton of writing to catch up on, but I’ll check back in soon to read more carefully.

Leave a Reply

